Advisory Role

Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research Advisory Council members advise foundation staff and board members regarding program development and implementation, potential partnerships, and other matters of significance to the organization’s mission to support innovative science addressing today’s food and agriculture challenges.
Individuals representing diverse industries, geographic areas, and professional backgrounds were selected to serve on the Foundation's six Advisory Councils from a competitive pool of applicants nominated through an open solicitation. Each council member will serve two or three-year terms, and meet virtually three times per year.
Each Advisory Council is led by a Chair, appointed to facilitate discussion, build consensus and serve as a liaison to the Foundation’s board.

Advisory Council Membership

*Bold, italic names are Council Chairs

Healthy Soils, Thriving Farms

Name Affiliation
Dennis Chessman, Ph.D. USDA NRCS Soil Health Division
Steve Culman, Ph.D. Ohio State University
Chad Ellis Noble Foundation
Nick Goeser National Corn Growers Association
Shannon Gomes Cedar Basin Crop Consulting
Timothy S. Griffin, Ph.D. Tufts University
Omololu (John) Idowu, Ph.D. New Mexico State University
Doug Karlen, Ph.D. National Laboratory for Agriculture and the Environment, USDA ARS
Britt Lundgren Stonyfield Farm Inc.
Allison Thomson Field to Market: The Alliance for Sustainable Agriculture
Don Villwock Corn, soy, seed soybeans and seed wheat farmer
Michelle Wander, Ph.D. University of Illinois

Overcoming Water Scarcity

Name Affiliation
Dennis Carman Carman Professional Services
Larry (Jason) Krutz, Ph.D. Mississippi State University
Jeffrey Peterson, Ph.D. University of Minnesota
John Pierson Georgia Institute of Technology
Claudia Ringler, Ph.D. IFPRI
Stephen Smith, Ph.D. Wade Water LLC. and Buena Vida Farm
Daniel Sonke Campbell Soup Company
Charles West, Ph.D. Texas Tech University
Laosheng Wu, Ph.D. University of California, Riverside

Protein Challenge

Name Affiliation
Lisa Becton, DVM National Pork Board
Sebastian Belle Maine Aquaculture Association; Econ-Aqua; TAAG
Kitty Cardwell, Ph.D. Oklahoma State University
Naomi Fukagawa, M.D., Ph.D. USDA-ARS Beltsville Human Nutrition Center
Helen Jensen, Ph.D. Iowa State University
Terry McElwain, DVM, Ph.D. (Board Liaison) Washington State University
G. Donald  Ritter, DVM Mountaire Farms Inc.
H. Morgan Scott, DVM, Ph.D. Texas A&M University
John Smith, DVM, M.S., MAM Fieldale Farms Corp
Joe Swedberg Legislative Affairs, Hormel Foods (ret.)
Duane Theuninck. Ph.D. Cargill Inc.

Food Waste and Loss

Name Affiliation
Diane Beckles, Ph.D. University of California – Davis
Barry Bradford, Ph.D. Kansas State University
Bob Branham Second Harvest Heartland
Erin Fitzgerald Dairy Management, Inc.
Katy Franklin ReFED
Andrew Harig Food Marketing Institute
Gary McMurray Georgia Tech Research Institute
Suresh Pillai, Ph.D. Texas A&M University
Carolyn Ross, Ph.D. Washington State University
Ashley Zanolli Oregon Department of Environmental Quality

Forging Innovation Pathways to Sustainability

Name Affiliation
Sheila Andrew, Ph.D. University of Connecticut
C. Daniel Azzara, Ph.D. Pennsylvania State University
Layne Coppock, Ph.D. Utah State University
Constance Cullman Farm Foundation, NFP
Priscila Henriquez, Ph.D. Inter-American Institute for Cooperation in Agriculture (IICA)
Alan Kriz, Ph.D. Bayer Crop Science
Jeff Lakner Lakner Farms LLC
Linda Prokopy, Ph.D. Purdue University
Margaret M. Zeigler, Ph.D. Global Harvest Initiative


Joint Council – Making My Plate Your Plate and Urban Food Systems

Name Affiliation
Nick Dokoozlian E&J Gallo Winery
Kate Fitzgerald Kate Fitzgerald Consulting
Nicole Ilic Edesianutrition
Dean Kopsell, Ph.D. University of Florida
Jonathan Lynch, Ph.D. Pennsylvania State University
Lorrene Ritchie, Ph.D. University of California Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources
Ronda Rutledge Sustainable Food Center
Gary Stutte SyNRGE, LLC
Maha Tahiri, Ph.D. General Mills
Laurian Unnevehr, Ph.D. University of Illinois (ret.)